Invited artists / Juan-Miguel Hernandez

Juan-Miguel Hernandez

An artist defined by the critics as "…tender, lyrical, loaded with personality" (Atlanta Journal Constitu-tion), Canadian violist JUAN-MIGUEL HERNANDEZ is also recognized for drawing "...the sweetest, most sonorous tone..." (Washington Post). In September 2009, Juan-Miguel won the first Prize at the 16th International Johannes Brahms Competition in Austria, adding to other top prizes won at the National Canadian Music Competition, and the 9th National Sphinx Competition in 2006. As a featured guest soloist, Juan-Miguel has appeared with the Atlanta, Seattle, Colorado Symphonies, the Rochester Phil-harmonic and the Chicago Sinfonietta. In 2010, he was recognized with the medal of honor from the National Assembly of Quebec for his significant musical International accomplishments.

A dedicated chamber musician, Juan-Miguel was a member of the legendary Fine Arts Quartet, an original member of the Harlem Quartet, as well as a founder and member of "Trio Virado" (Flute, Vio-la, Guitar) and "Boreal Trio” (Clarinet, Viola, Piano), both specializing in the creation of new repertoire. His musicianship has led to a wide array of collaborations with artists such as Itzhak Perlman, Lynn Harrell, Matt Haimovitz, Kim Kashkashian, Gerard Caussé as well as Jazz living legends Chick Corea, Gary Burton and Stanley Clark.

Born in Montreal (Canada) in 1985, Juan-Miguel began studying the violin at age seven, then switched to viola at age twelve. Education being a prominent part of his career, Juan-Miguel joined the faculty of the Royal Academy of Music in London as Professor of Viola in September 2016. He plays on a beau-tiful 2008 Miralles viola from Altadena CA.

www.jmhernandez.com

Artistes Invités / Juan-Miguel Hernandez

Juan-Miguel Hernandez

Artiste que les critiques qualifient de "…tendre, lyrique, pourvu d’une riche personnalité” (Atlanta Journal Constitution), l’altiste canadien JUAN-MIGUEL HERNANDEZ est aussi reconnu pour produire “le ton le plus doux, le plus sonore"... (Washington Post). En septembre 2009, Juan-Miguel remporta le premier prix lors du 16ème Compétition Internationale Johannes Brahms en Autriche, prix venant s’ajouter à ceux déjà gagnés lors de la Compétition Nationale de Musique du Canada, et de la 9ème National Sphinx Competition en 2006. En tant que soliste invité vedette, Juan-Miguel s’est produit avec les orchestres symphoniques d’Atlanta, de Seattle, du Colorado, le Philharmonique de Rochester et le Chicago Sinfonietta. En 2010, il fut récompensé par la médaille d’honneur délivrée par l’Assemblée Nationale du Québec, pour ses importantes réalisations musicales internationales.

Remarquable musicien de chambre, Juan-Miguel fut membre du légendaire Fine Arts Quartet, un membre à l’origine du Harlem Quartet, ainsi qu’un fondateur et membre du Trio Virado" (flûte, alto, guitare) et du Boreal Trio (clarinette, alto, piano), tous deux spécialisés dans la création d’un nouveau répertoire. L’expressivité de sa musique l’a conduit à de nombreuses collaborations avec des artistes comme Itzhak Perlman, Lynn Harrell, Matt Haimovitz, Kim Kashkashian, Gérard Caussé ainsi qu’avec les légendes vivantes du Jazz, Chick Corea, Gary Burton et Stanley Clark.

Né à Montréal (Canada) en 1985, Juan-Miguel commença l’étude du violon à 7 ans, puis passa à l’alto à 12 ans. L’éducation étant une part fondamentale de sa carrière, Juan-Miguel entra à la faculté de l’Académie Royale de Musique de Londres comme professeur d’Alto en septembre 2016. Il joue sur un magnifique alto 2008 Miralles de Altadena CA.

www.jmhernandez.com