Invited artists / James Kreiling

James Kreiling

British pianist, JAMES KREILING’S solo career has focused on music of the early 20th century - in particular the piano works of Scriabin - as well as composers still living. This has led to performances in the major concert halls of London, notably as a soloist at the 2007 BBC Proms. In 2008 James became a Park Lane Group young artist with solo recitals at the Purcell Room and St Martin-in-the-Fields. More recently, James has broadcast for BBC Radio 3, presenting the music of Jonathan Harvey, David Matthews, Peter Eotvos, Thomas Ades and Pierre Boulez.

He recently completed a performance-based doctorate at the Guildhall School of Music focusing on Scriabin’s late piano sonatas, and in the last two years has recorded two discs encompassing the composer’s complete late piano music. Determined to bring Scriabin’s often misunderstood work to a wider public, he has experimented with presenting music in unusual formats and locations. He is a co-founder of Multiphonic Arts, mounting concerts which mix classical piano with other performance arts - poetry, drama and dance, folk and jazz.

James has also performed throughout Europe and the UK in a piano duo with his wife, Janneke Brits. Highlights have included a tour of France with Stravinsky’s Les Noces as well as four-hand recitals at the En Blanc et Noir piano festival in Lagrasse, France, where the duo is now a regular fixture.

www.jameskreiling.co.uk

Artistes Invités / James Kreiling

James Kreiling

La carrière de soliste du pianiste anglais JAMES KREILING s’est focalisée sur la musique du début du XXème siècle- en particulier sur les œuvres pour piano de Scriabin - ainsi que sur les compositeurs toujours en vie. Ce qui a abouti à des concerts dans les grandes salles de Londres, notamment comme soliste aux “ BBC Proms” de 2007. En 2008, James devint un jeune artiste du “ Park Lane Group” en donnant des récitals solo au Purcell Room et à St Martin-in-the-Fields. Plus récemment, James a travaillé pour la radio BBC 3, présentant la musique de Jonathan Harvey, David Matthews, Peter Eotvos, Thomas Ades et Pierre Boulez.

Il a récemment soutenu un doctorat à la “ Guildhall School of Music”, basé sur les dernières sonates pour piano de Scriabin, et ces deux dernières années, il a enregistré deux disques incluant les dernières œuvres pour piano du compositeur. Déterminé à faire connaître à un public plus large l’ œuvre souvent mal comprise de Scriabin, il a eu l’idée de présenter cette musique dans des formes et lieux inhabituels. Il est l’un des cofondateurs de “ Multiphonic Arts”, organisant des concerts qui mêlent le piano classique avec d’autres formes artistiques - la poésie, le théâtre et la danse, la musique folk et le jazz.

James s’est aussi produit en Europe et en Grande Bretagne dans un duo de pianos avec son épouse, Janneke Brits. Les grands moments ont notamment comporté un tour de France avec Les Noces de Stravinsky ainsi que des récitals à quatre mains au festival de piano En Blanc et Noir à Lagrasse, France, où le duo se produit maintenant régulièrement.

www.jameskreiling.co.uk