Invited artists / Alasdair Beatson

Alasdair Beatson

Scottish pianist Alasdair Beatson works prolifically as soloist and chamber musician. Highlights of the 17/18 season include concerts in London’s Wigmore Hall and Kings Place, festivals of West Cork, Ryedale, Resonances (Belgium), Isola d’Elba, and Ernen (Switzerland), and collaborations with Adrian Brendel, Philippe Graffin, Pekka Kuusisto, Pieter Wispelwey, the Doric String Quartet and Meta4 among many.

Alasdair is renowned as a sincere musician and intrepid programmer. Alongside a particular affinity with the classical repertoire and the music of Schumann and Fauré, he often explores the more exotic: Catoire, Pierné, Thuille; Debussy’s Jeux (in the composer’s arrangement for solo piano); Ligeti Horn Trio, Thomas Adès Piano Quintet; and piano trio arrangements of Debussy’s La Mer, Janacek’s Kreutzer Sonata, Shostakovich’s 15th Symphony (with 3 percussionists) and Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht. His concerto repertoire includes works of Bach, Bartok, Fauré, Hans Abrahamsen, Hindemith, Mozart, Sally Beamish, Stravinsky, Messiaen; he appeared in recent years as soloist with Britten Sinfonia, Moscow Virtuosi, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Scottish Ensemble, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra and Tapiola Sinfonietta.

2017 saw the release on BIS of a recording with Alec Frank-Gemmill of 19th century music for horn and piano, recorded on four exquisite historical pianos (and four fantastical historical horns) spanning 1815 - 1895. This release joins an acclaimed discography of three solo and numerous chamber recordings, on BIS, Claves, Champs Hill, Evil Penguin and SOMM labels.

A regular participant at the open chamber music at IMS Prussia Cove, Alasdair took part in their tours of 2007 and 2011, and collected the 2008 RPS Award for Chamber Music on their behalf. He has enjoyed working closely with composers George Benjamin, Harrison Birtwistle, Cheryl Frances-Hoad, Heinz Holliger and Helena Winkelman. Alasdair is founder and artistic director of the French chamber music festival Musique à Marsac.

www.alasdairbeatson.com

Artistes Invités / Alasdair Beatson

Alasdair Beatson

Le pianiste écossais ALASDAIR BEATSON travaille de façon prolifique comme soliste et musicien de chambre. Les points forts de la saison 2017/18 incluent des concerts au Wigmore Hall et au Kings Place (Londres), les festivals de West Cork, Ryedale, Résonances ( Belgique ), Isola d’Elba et Ernen (Suisse), et des collaborations avec Adrian Brendel, Philippe Graffin, Pekka Kuusisto, Pieter Wispelwey, le Doric String Quartet et Meta4 parmi tant d’autres.

Alasdair est connu pour être un musicien sincère et un programmateur audacieux. A côté d’une affinité particulière pour le répertoire classique et la musique de Schumann et Fauré, il explore souvent les plus exotiques : Catoire, Pierné, Thuille; les Jeux de Debussy ( dans l’arrangement pour piano solo du compositeur ) ; le Trio pour Cor de Ligeti, le Quintet avec piano de Thomas Adès , et les arrangements de La Mer de Debussy pour trio avec piano, la Sonate à Kreutzer de Janacek, la 15ème Symphonie de Chostakovitch ( avec trois percussionnistes ) et la Verklärte Nacht de Schönberg. Son répertoire de concerto comprend des œuvres de Bach, Bartok, Fauré, Hans Abrahamsen, Hindemith, Mozart, Sally Beamish, Stravinsky, Messiaen; il a joué ces dernières années comme soliste avec Britten Sinfonia, Moscow Virtuosi, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Scottish Ensemble, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra et Tapiola Sinfonietta.

2017 a vu la sortie chez BIS d’un enregistrement avec Alec Franck- Gemmill de musique du XIXème siècle pour cor et piano, enregistré sur 4 superbes pianos historiques (et 4 fantastiques cors historiques) couvrant une période allant de 1815 à 1895. Cette sortie rejoint une remarquable discographie de trois solos et nombre d’enregistrements de musique de chambre, chez BIS, Claves, Champs Hill, Evil Penguin et SOMM.

Participant régulier de l’open chamber music à IMS Prussia Cove, Alasdair prit part à leur tournée en 2007 et 2011, et reçut le « 2008 RPS Award for Chamber Music » en leur nom. Il a eu le plaisir de travailler avec les compositeurs George Benjamin, Harrison Birtwistle, Cheryl Frances-Hoad, Heinz Holliger et Helena Winkelman.. Alasdair est fondateur et directeur artistique du Festival Français de musique de chambre Musique à Marsac.

www.alasdairbeatson.com